Mundanities

My grandmother used to make me…

One thing that I haven’t confessed in this space yet is my tendency to stock up on toiletry items so that I’m never without. It’s not uncommon for me to have three or four bottles of shampoo, three or four (once I think I had six) things of deodorant, etc. Often more than one of any given product will be open at a time.

For example, I have two open things of face wash in my shower (different brands) and a third at the sink (yet another brand).

And they are ALL almost empty, at the same time.

Since I also tend to stock up on pins in pinterest (that was supposed to be funny, but I think I failed), I decided to try the “oil cleansing method.”

Which brings me to my search for castor oil. I’d never bought castor oil. I’d never looked for castor oil. And I had no idea where one could buy it. I was worried it was some hippie-crunchy-health food store type of purchase. (No judgment implied. Just the only way I could think of to translate what was in my head into words.) So I asked on twitter and got three “any pharmacy should have it”s.

Pharmacy one: no castor oil.

Pharmacy two: pharmacist had just sold his last bottle the day before.

This morning, pharmacy three: success! And then the following conversation with the cashier:

Cashier: Did you find everything you were looking for?

Me: Yes! This was the third pharmacy I had to go to, but I finally found castor oil.

Cashier: Ew. My grandmother used to make me take it.

Me: Oh, don’t worry, I’m not planning to use it internally.

Leave a Reply

