Knitting

You just follow the pattern…

I don’t recall if I mentioned that my mom decided that she would knit the Multnomah when I knit it. My mom also decided that socks would be a good thing to knit when I knit her a pair of socks.

Both of these experiences frustrated me to no end. And it’s really unfair, I suppose, that they did so, because I know that people have different learning styles. But in both of these situations, my mother (note the switch from “mom” to “mother,” implying my great frustration) required hand-holding through the process.

Mom: “I don’t understand how this is supposed to work!”

Me: “Just…follow the pattern. It’ll work.”

Mom: “But I don’t understand how this will shape the heel.”

Me: “I don’t either. Just follow the pattern. It’ll work.”

Mom: “But won’t it end up ____?”

Me: “No, just follow the pattern. It will work. I promise.”

Mom: “But…”

That was the sock. Frustrating, but at least I knew what my mom was talking about. The Multnomah was a different situation entirely. I  couldn’t even begin to reconstruct the dialogue we had in which we just spoke past each other for probably two days (with my frequent refrain of “I don’t understand your question. You just follow the pattern.”)  It turned out that she didn’t understand that you start knitting at the top-center and work your way out, so she thought that the edging had to be attached somewhere. And she couldn’t understand why the directions didn’t say how many stitches to cast on for the edge. Of course, if she’d just listened to me and followed the d*** directions she would have figured this out on her own.

Why do I mention this now?

Because this weekend I knit my first fair isle project. A little hat, nothing too big or complicated (as evidenced by the fact that I finished it in two days of knitting). But I did it without taking a class, without watching videos, with only skimming a set of directions from Knitty.

I will be the first to admit that if you turn the hat inside out, you might be able to notice that I don’t have a lot of skill in the area of fair isle knitting. But I did it…by just following the pattern.

Now I just need the temperature to dip below 90 so I can wear it.

2 thoughts on “You just follow the pattern…

  1. Yikes! I don’t know that I’ll ever dabble in fair isle. Working in just two colors for striping usually results in a jumbled tangle of yarn that takes way too long to undo. Congrats on doing it flying solo!

    • There’s definitely a bit of tangling. And I think that if I held my yarns “correctly” there would be less. But it’s cute and boast-worthy, so I’ll keep doing it 🙂

Leave a Reply

