Knitting

New project

This focus thing is pretty cool. Last night I was supposed to focus on washing dishes but instead I went to my LYS to weigh the scarf I was working on so that I wouldn’t run out of yarn. The weighing didn’t work so well and I totally ran out of yarn (three projects in a row!) but this one was easier to rip than I thought it would be. (Hello run on sentences.) All this is to say that I ended up staying at the store until I finished binding off, at which point I needed to go home because, well, I had nothing else to do there.

And as soon as I got home, I cast on for a new project.

That’s not true. As soon as I got home, I wrote out pattern directions for the start of a design I’m making up, and THEN I cast on. Then I ripped back and started over with many fewer stitches.

Now, I’m not a knitwear designer. (Not. At. All.) So this pattern isn’t going to end up being the next big thing to knit. And therefore I feel free to tell you about my process.

In depth. With more run on sentences. ‘Til you’re bored and wondering why you ever started reading this blog.

It started with a gorgeous skein of Huckleberry Bling from Knitted Wit. Gorgeous, and worth making something for myself, and Not. At. All. a color that I would ever put anywhere near my body.

All was not lost, however. In my stash, waiting to be transformed into socks, was 100 grams of dark brown wool (not sure where the ball band is, sorry). A quick rummage for where I’d last placed the project bag with said wool (answer: on a shelf that I don’t ever put knitting things on) and it turns out that the two yarns are a beautiful combo. The brown mellows the brightness of the huckleberry.

Next step: what to knit?? I thought about socks, but I’m not ready to tackle colorwork socks. Plus, I really wanted a project that would allow me to use my new shmancy lantern moon ebony needles. So–a shawl.

Even though I made a Multnomah, I’m just not a shawl kind of girl. Scarves yes, rectangular shawls maybe, triangle not so much. So I browsed ravelry and liked the looks of some striped shawls (hi Stephen West, I’m talking about you) but they just weren’t what I was looking for.

And then it hit me: a trapezoid.

You know, until you start the feather and fan bit of the multnomah? It’s a trapezoid too. It’s only a 5 stitch stretch that keeps it from being a triangle, but it’s there. So that’s where I started for guidance on how to do the increases. I’m starting with the brown in stockinette, with kfbs for the increases. I’m only three rows in at the moment, so I haven’t decided how much of a solid base (base? it’s at the top) I’m going to do, and then I’m going to continue in alternating stripes: one garter ridge of huckleberry, two stockinette rows of brown.

Now, can I go knit please?

3 thoughts on “New project

    • I’ll have to find my camera first 🙂 But yes, I’ll be happy to do so. I’ve been knitting away, but am still on the brown “base” section. Mostly because I don’t think it’s big enough, but partially because I haven’t wound the huckleberry yarn yet. Sunday I’ll have to venture to the LYS to do some winding.

Leave a Reply

