Sewing

Skirt fail

I made a skirt.

I took a skirt that fits me, folded it in half, traced it, added some for seam allowances, cut out the pattern, cut out two pieces with the pattern, sewed up the waist, sewed up the hem, sewed in an invisible zipper (using this tutorial; it worked perfectly for me), sewed up the seams, and…

Phenomenally huge at the waist. Itty bitty at the hips. (Get the reference? Anybody?)

So I did what any normal person would do. I took another piece of fabric and tried again. This time, it’s a stretchy knit fabric, and I made it a LOT wider at the hips. I haven’t gotten very far in the sewing, though. I’ll let you know how it turns out.

Leave a Reply

